Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Philip K. Dick Award shortlist announced

The short list for this year’s Philip K. Dick Award has been announced. The nominees, published in 2010, are as follows:

Yarn by Jon Armstrong (Night Shade Books)
Chill by Elizabeth Bear (Ballantine Books/Spectra)
The Reapers Are The Angels by Alden Bell (Henry Holt & Co.)
Song of Scarabaeus by Sara Creasy (Eos)
The Strange Affair of Spring Heeled Jack by Mark Hodder (Pyr)
Harmony by Project Itoh, translated by Alexander O. Smith (Haikasoru)
State of Decay by James Knapp (Roc)

Philip K. Dick Award  is presented for “distinguished science fiction published in paperback original form in the United States.” In other words, for authors who don’t get enough respect to get their books published in hardcover. Philip K. Dick’s novels, usually published first in paperback, provided the author with a meager living. The winner will be announced at Norwescon in April.

No comments:

Post a Comment