Sunday, August 17, 2014

2014 Hugo Award winners

The 2014 Hugo Awards were presented tonight (17 August 2014) at the ExCel Center in London during LonCon3, the World Science Fiction Convention. Click photos to enlarge.

Best Novel: Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie 

Best Novella: "Equoid" by Charles Stross 

Best Novelette: "The Lady Astronaut of Mars" by Mary Robinette Kowal

 Best Short Story: "The Water That Falls on You from Nowhere" by John Chu

Best Editor - Long Form: Ginjer Buchanan 

Best Fanzine: A Dribble of Ink by Aidan Moher

Best Editor - Short Form: Ellen Datlow 

Best Graphic Story: "Time" by Randall Munroe (not present).
Cory Doctorow (above) accepted the award for Munroe.

David Benioff and D.B. Weiss were present to accept their Hugo Award (Best Dramatic Presentation - Short Form: Game of Thrones, "The Rains of Castamere"). They both left before the photo session. No other award winners were actually present to accept their awards.

Related links:
For a complete list of 2014 Hugo Award winners, follow here.
For all the voting statistics, follow here for the PDF.
(Note: In the nominating stats, on page 19 of the PDF, I see that Neil Gaiman withdrew his novel The Ocean at the End of the Lane. It was the second most nominated novel.)

Related links on this blog:
John Clute kaffeeklatsch
Loncon 3 panel photos
More Loncon 3 panel photos
Still more Loncon 3 photos
Yes, more Loncon 3 photos
Loncon 3 notes and quotes

1 comment: