Saturday, May 21, 2011

2011 Nebula Award winners announced

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) have announced the 2011 Nebula Award winners for work published in 2010. The awards were presented today in Washinton, D.C.

Novel: Blackout/All Clear, Connie Willis (Spectra)

Novella: "The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers beneath the Queen's Window", Rachel Swirsky (Subterranean Summer ’10)

Novelette: "That Leviathan, Whom Thou Hast Made", Eric James Stone (Analog 9/10)

Short Story (tie) "Ponies", Kij Johnson ( 1/17/10) and "How Interesting: A Tiny Man", Harlan Ellison (Realms of Fantasy 2/10)

Ray Bradbury Award (Dramatic Presentation) Inception, Christopher Nolan (director), Christopher Nolan (screenplay) (Warner)

Andre Norton Award (Young Adult) I Shall Wear Midnight, Terry Pratchett (Gollancz; Harper)

I've read "The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers beneath the Queen's Window" and have already written here that it was one of the best novellas of 2010 (novella discussion). I am halfway through Blackout/All Clear and will reserve judgment. In the film category, Inception was disappointing (film review).

Related link:
Locus Online's report on all the Nebula Award winners and nominees

No comments:

Post a Comment